The Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award

Launched by the UBCP/ACTRA Women’s Committee, the “Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award” is annually presented to a UBCP/ACTRA Member whose work as a Performer and/or beyond, embodies the type of accomplishments that advance the status of women in our society and encourage the continued growth and diversification of opportunities for women.

Year       Recipient

2020 Catherine Lough Haggquist
2019     Lesley Ewen
2018     Jennifer Clement
2017     Veena Sood
2016     Joy Coghill
2015     Marny Eng
2014     Gabrielle Rose
2013     Carmen Moore
2012     Carol Whiteman
2011     Carmen Aguirre
2010     Marilyn Norry
2009     Margo Kane

International Women’s Day Honoree

The UBCP Women’s Committee identified as a matter of policy that criterion for selection of an honouree includes that the honouree be a living, working member of UBCP / ACTRA, and that she have a demonstrable history of giving back to the union, the industry, and causes of social justice.

Year       Recipient

2020     Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers
2019     Valerie Sing Turner
2018     Linda Darlow
2017     Deanne Henry
2016     Donna Yamamoto
2015     Anna Hagan
2014     Nicole Oliver
2013     Catherine Lough Haggquist
2012     Christine Willes
2011     Joyce Robbins and Jacqueline Robbins